Urgent - meat cooking question!

mazzy1, Oct 20, 3:46am
We've been given a seasoned rolled hogget roast - 1.4kg - yum! I want to cook it tonight but have no idea of the best way. I am a LOUSY meat cook - always overcook it (but I loathe it too pink). Should I use an oven bag? How long to cook a roast like please?

geldof, Oct 20, 5:15am
At this time of the day, I'd do it in the pressure cooker and make gravy with the juices.

kirmag, Oct 20, 5:44am
Low n slow. Or you could try an oven bag, will keep it moist.

Not everyone has a pressure cooker!

kindajojo, Oct 20, 5:48am
Guess it should be cooking away, . put rosemary in the roast, cook long and slow in a oven bad till it is fall apart tender make rich gravy with the juices and serves with potatoe and kumara mash, carrots and peas with mint sauce .

valentino, Oct 20, 6:04am
The best method is via a Rotisserie in a Hooded BBQ, well basted and absolutely yummy, collect the juices in a tray below it for a scrumptious gravy - basting sauce.

Perhaps with a few veges too for a total deal.

Cheers

valentino, Oct 20, 6:06am
One can replicate the above post in an oven, just simply turn the roast every so often etc. temp at say 190C and placed in the lower third of the oven positioning.

Oh, a meat thermometer would be great, shows the internal temps for ideal cooking.

Cheers

mazzy1, Oct 20, 6:25am
Thanks for your responses everyone. Sadly you were all too late, so I chucked it in an oven bag for an hour and a half then rested it for 20 mins. My husband just said "OMG! I think you have just cooked it to perfection! "

rainrain1, Oct 20, 6:32am
You're on to it. just bung it in the oven. never in our whole long lamb breeding life have I ever timed a roast. Tested it with a fork yes, timed it never!

valentino, Oct 20, 7:57pm
LOL, reminds me of a true Hangi cooked Hogget, though an oven bag still needs a little bit extra for those extra touches. Love Hangi cooked Hogget.