Why cant i make big, light, fluffy scones

Page 1 / 3
purplegoanna, Jul 12, 10:24pm
talking to the mother in law yesterday about scones, shes admits too that in all her years shes neva been able to make a decent scone (shes a accomplished baker at 70+yrs old too).you know the big wopper light airy tasty scones that you see some woman present at the table.

village.green, Jul 12, 10:29pm
I am no expert but mine are moderately light. I think incorporating as much air as possible helps as well as minimal handling. When I make scones I only pat the dough together never knead and then cut with a knife. Some people think using scone cutters affects the rising too!
Someone more experienced hopefully will offer more opinions.
ps. tomorrow I am going to try and make a light victoria sponge.

cookessentials, Jul 12, 10:58pm
Try making buttermilk scones, you will never look back! Yell out if you would like my recipe.

purplegoanna, Jul 12, 11:02pm
OF COURSE.YELLING NOW.i going to suceed with the damn things one day.the lady in the cafe up the road makes these giant cheese ones, theyre about 4-5in w and about 3 inch high.they sorta lean over to one side they grow so big.each mouthful is a mouthwatering morsel.sadly she runs her cafe inside a large warehouse so the only people who can buy them are the workers.(of which i am no longer)

sarahb5, Jul 13, 12:05am
My mum makes hers with milk that's slightly sour and they are always light and fluffy - I think it's because of the extra "action" going on with the milk.I imagine the buttermilk scones would be similar for the same reason.Scones are best made quickly - no messing around playing with the dough to make it look pretty, etc.

sarahb5, Jul 13, 12:06am
Remember Brett who won Masterchef!His mum makes the best cheese scones I've ever tasted

village.green, Jul 13, 12:31am
Agree with the buttermilk way. I tend to use Annabel White's buttermilk recipe but would love another.