What to do with leftover ham!

Page 1 / 3
willow123, Jan 1, 11:17pm
We've always done this too. I've been doing this for 30 years, my parents did it and the idea originally came from my grandparents - nobody has ever had problems with it

gardie, Jan 2, 4:10am
Pasta cabonara - thanks.Was just thinking what I would do with the ham tonight.Had it for New Years Day dinner.Looking forward to some now.

kuaka, Jan 2, 8:13am
So you don't think that it just keeps it moist and feeds the bacteria as one poster suggested!I'm still using my ham which I started over a week before Christmas, and it's showing no signs of deterioration yet.

hunter246, Dec 26, 9:53am
Have quite a bit left, thought of pizzas, ham steaks, sammies, ham and pineapple salad, there must be plenty of other recipies. does anyone have one for a pie or some other main meal idea!Thanks

kuaka, Dec 26, 11:05am
Your ham will keep quite well in the fridge if you wrap it in a baby gauze muslin cloth soaked in lemonade.We keep ours for up to three weeks by adding more lemonade to the cloth every day and then rinsing the cloth about every third day and putting more lemonade on it.

gardie, Dec 26, 5:25pm
Sadly, we finished ours last night.Its such a treat for my gown kids that they pig out on Christmas day then came back yesterday for another Christmas Day type lunch (leftovers).Hubby, I and youngest daughter had Ham for dinner tonight with all the heated leftover veges (all from the garden).It was lovely.Always sad to see the end of the ham though.

gardie, Dec 26, 5:26pm
I should say - maybe it was because it was so nice.Thanks to advice on here, we ordered ours from Havoc Farms.Absolutely delish.

davidt4, Dec 26, 8:08pm
I freeze ham in thick slices.It is great to fry with eggs for breakfast as a change from bacon.

lythande1, Dec 26, 9:27pm