Ultimate Cheese Roll recipe as TV 1 news 6/07/2010

Page 2 / 2
maynard9, Jul 7, 9:39pm
Think it depends who you know rather than where you have ived as to whether you have been 'exposed' to these delights. I have been making them for over 30 years and never lived in the sth of Sth. Lived in Blenheim for a while but was already making them then. When I moved to both Pukekohe and later Whangarei I introduced my fellow young Mums to them - and now after 10yrs in Palmerston North a few more freezers are lined with them. I make 2 batches at a time. 1 for us and 1 for sons flat. I freeflow them on trays then put into the large snaplock bags. I leave the crusts on. Sons flat always request the 'deluxe' model as they call it. Extras of cooked streaky bacon diced and small tin crushed pineapple. Hubby and I happy with the original. I don't add the cream - think there is enough to go on the hips as it is with that amount of cheese. I too use my sandwich press. So much quicker than grilling and you don't have to turn them.

neil_di, Jul 7, 10:32pm
#JEEZA# dont worry about 3 fold . . just roll and flatten slightly. . Cheers

neil_di, Jul 7, 10:34pm
#MAYNARD# Hips and cheese rolls should never be mentioned in the same sentence! ! ! !

harrislucinda, Jul 7, 11:28pm
I havehadthisrecipeforyearsneverknewitwouldbeawinnerbutcanjustspreadontoastandgrill

maynard9, Jul 8, 1:15am
Hehe - yes I know what you mean... ... ... ... ... ... . . I have been cursed by some friends in the past come to think of it.

When we biked the Otago Rail Trail a lot of the food places had them. Didn't feel the slightest bit guilty having them then as I knew I would sure work them off!

wron, Jul 8, 1:46am
Thanks neil_di!

pinkpup, Jul 8, 7:16am
I made em . . very yummmy :D

rosemaryp, Jul 8, 11:26pm