Looking for an easy but impressive meal

beausun, May 10, 10:27pm
I have a visitor coming tonight. She thinks I am a good cook <VBG> I need something to cook for dinner which is quick but impressive. I can cook well if I have to,but don't have many good ideas lately. Please help.

cookessentials, May 10, 11:20pm
Do you like wood roasted salmon!

cookessentials, May 10, 11:21pm
I have just copied from another thread for you below.

This is our recipe just to share. Orzo pasta looks a bit like rice for those of you whoo have not tried it. I buy the "Sproutman" baby spinach leaves at Moore wilson, they are quite small.around tsp to dessert spoon size.
We have this often as it s quick and easy to prepare when I am late home. I usually dont bother with the peas and i dont always add the snipped dill. I use the wood smoked salmon with the pepper/chilli on the top wich is a nice addition. You can buy the "sproutman" baby spinach leaves in a bag from most supermarkets. I also add more lemon zest for our taste.

1 cup orzo, cooked
1 teaspoon flaky sea salt
1/2 cup fresh or frozen peas, cooked
1 tablespoon fresh chopped dill
Grated rind 1 lemon
1/4 cup chopped flat-leaf parsley
2-3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
2 tablespoons lemon juice
2 cups baby spinach leaves
200g hot-smoked salmon, broken into chunks

Place the orzo in a bowl and add the salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste. Fold through the peas, dill, lemon rind and parsley. Drizzle in the olive oil and lemon juice and gently toss everything together. Add the spinach and salmon and fold them through. Serve in bowls.

bridget107, May 10, 11:23pm

beausun, May 11, 12:43am
I will save both those recipes- they both look good. I gave her salmon last time which was really nice and worked well. The beef and lentil lasagne looks good for a family meal to make regularly, I will try it.I think I will do Moroccan lamb as in the other thread.

nfh1, May 11, 5:19am
VBG - what is this please!

nunesy, May 11, 5:42am