Low Carb Desserts

Page 1 / 3
yodagirl, Jan 15, 9:21am
Hi I am new to the low carb lifestyle.Can you tell me if the raw low GI sugar is a good substitute for sugar in baking etc!I dont have sugar on drinks or anything else except baking really.Thanks

davidt4, Jan 15, 8:59pm
If you are serious about eating low carb you will have to cut out sugar of all kinds, and honey and other sweeteners.A low GI is irrelevant.There are ways of baking with artificial sweeteners, but in my opinion the disadvantages far outweigh the benefits.

The simplest approach is to remove baked goods from your diet completely, includingbread; this will reduce your carb intake hugely.

accroul, Jan 15, 11:50pm
Beat 1large tablespoon of original cream cheese with 1/4 cup cream. When thickened, beat in 1/2tsp vanilla ess & desired flavour like like to add cocoa or crushed strawberries (when in season) & sweetner 'to taste'.
Not an everyday dessert!

buzzy110, Jan 16, 8:40am
As davidt4 said, the low GI means nothing. In order for you to decide if you want to eat the low GI sugar, you will have to read the label and see how many carbs are in it. You can then make up your own mind.

The "low GI" selling point might not be as fantastic as it seems. I think it has a GI rating of 50, whilst ordinary, white table sugar has a GI of, I think, 63. Palm sugar has a much lower GI rating, coming in at 35 but the GI rating is irrelevant in low carb. The carbs are the important thing.

Baking should be saved for very special occasions.

ks1968, Nov 16, 8:52pm
Does anyone have any good recipes for Low Carb or Low GI Desserts please

bedazzledjewels, Nov 16, 9:59pm
Google Oeufs Meulemeester and it'll take you to a NZ website with a black background. There are lc desserts there, acessible from the homepage.

uli, Nov 16, 9:59pm
Greek Yoghurt and berries

or

whipped cream and berries

ks1968, Nov 16, 10:19pm
Thanks for your hints

bedazzledjewels, Nov 16, 10:28pm