I have fresh gherkins coming out my ears.....

Page 1 / 2
jennyl11, Jan 1, 2:04am
x1
will these taste just like the bought ones using these recipes! I am new to growing gherkins

jennyl11, Jan 1, 3:55am
I have picked my first gherkin will at least I think its one however the skin is rather pale not dark green and I have cut it open and tasted it but it tastes like cucumber is that how its supposed to taste! and if so why would the skin be so pale. (friend gave me a plant that was supposed to be a zucchini, which I planted next to the gherkins hence why I may be confused)

jennyl11, Jan 12, 4:11am
question re sealing using your method david4 how do you seal themand with what!

davidt4, Jan 12, 4:53am
I just put them into jars with screwtop lids.There's no need to go to any special lengths to seal them.

jennyl11, Jan 12, 5:17am
thanks do they keep for a long time!

blt10, Jan 15, 6:20am
Sorry divine' typo

uli, Jan 15, 9:44pm
They will not keep forever though - even in the fridge (which will slow them down) they will keep getting softer. So either eat them within 6 months - or "stop" the fermentation by placing them into a spiced vinegar and use the lovely lacto-ferment juice for drinks rather than discard it.

dragonlady65, Jan 15, 10:40pm
a progress report on my gherkins.I have done one batch of Davidt4 recipe and they were a favourite wiith my husband, eating a jar at a time lol. I have just done another recipe for sweet gherkin, which can be found on http:/www.thatsmyhome.com/general/sweet-gherkins.htm takes a few days but very yummy as they are without having sat yet. Nauru can you please post your recipe for gherkin relish, it sound yummy. thank you all.

wildflower, Jan 16, 2:48am
I didn't think my gherkins were really growing then I discovered one I'd missed and now it's rather large, too large for a gherkin:(

uli, Jan 17, 11:09pm
Go and eat it like a salad cucumber - whatever you would do with one. there is no difference really!

wil0, Jan 18, 2:16am