bump, these all sound lovely

winnie15, Oct 21, 11:35pm
wow yes please . they sound nice!

bev00, Oct 21, 11:01am
too good to lose ;)

carlosjackal, Oct 21, 7:24pm
Spinach and Feta Filo Pie (Spanakopita)

This is a firm favourite of ours; I have been making this for many, many years:

The quantities are really only approximate as I go by taste.

• A few sheets Filo pastry
• Melted butter (to brush Filo pastry with)

• Spinach (I used to use fresh but I now use the frozen spinach) - about 8- 10 frozen blocks thawed)
•1 Onion - very finely diced
•1/2 tsp ground Nutmeg
•125g Feta crumbled (or more according to taste) - do not use the softFeta in this dish - I use about 1/2 - 2/3 of a block of Galaxy or MainlandFeta
•1/2 cup grated Parmesan or Romano cheese
•125g Ricotta cheese
•Ground pepper
•salt

oPlace all the above ingredients in a bowl and mix
oLayer sheets of Filo pastry in a shallow and lightly greased oven dish - ensuring each piece is brushed with some melted butter. Allow the pastry to overlap and overhang the rim of the dish you are using.
oSpoon the spinach mixture into the pasrty lined dish and fold the overhanging pastry over the top of the mixture. Place a couple more sheets of buttered filo pastry on top of the pie.
oBake in moderately hot oven for about 30 mins.

carlosjackal, Oct 21, 7:24pm
Spinach and Feta Filo Pie (Spanakopita)

This is a firm favourite of ours; I have been making this for many, many years:

The quantities are really only approximate as I go by taste.

• A few sheets Filo pastry
• Melted butter (to brush Filo pastry with)

• Spinach (I used to use fresh but I now use the frozen spinach) - about 8- 10 frozen blocks thawed)
•1 Onion - very finely diced
•1/2 tsp ground Nutmeg
•125g Feta crumbled (or more according to taste) - do not use the softFeta in this dish - I use about 1/2 - 2/3 of a block of Galaxy or MainlandFeta
•1/2 cup grated Parmesan or Romano cheese
•125g Ricotta cheese
•Ground pepper
•salt