Loaf recipes - please

Page 2 / 2
gardie, Dec 11, 5:21pm
Bumping so as not to loose the thread.

fruitluva2, Dec 12, 5:29pm
More loaves, mmmm, thanx for sharing folks.

cookessentials, Dec 12, 6:05pm
This is one of our favourites too and it is so quick and easy.

fruitluva2, Dec 12, 6:26pm
Does anyone have the Lemon loaf recipe please? and especially the ones from smilecity recipes would be greatly appreciated.

510, Dec 12, 8:31pm
Apricot Loaf
This is ahand written beautiful recipe that I have been making for over 30 years.
Cut up a cup of dried apricots & soak them in warm water for an hour.Sift together 8 0z flour, 1tspn bkg soda, 1 tspn crm of tartar, 1/2 tspn salt.Beat 1 egg well.Add 40z sugar to egg, beat well then add 2 Tbspn melted cooled butter & 1/2 cp apricot water.
Add liquid & apricots to dry ingredients.Mix quickly, DON'T BEAT.
Bake for 1 hour @ 350. Enjoy

Metric conversion
4 oz = 125gms
350* F = 180* C

cgvl, Oct 3, 1:58am
my favourite: 5 cup fruit loaf
1cup of each of the following self raising flour, dried fruit, brown sugar, bran, milk. mix all together and pour into loaf tin. bake mod oven for 1 hour.

I play around with this loaf in that sometimes I don't want bran in it so add extra flour and or some rolled oats. Have added orange zest and walnuts to make a nut loaf. can substitue milk for cold tea, soak fruit in it to make a tea bread loaf.
be careful if addflour as it can make loaf dry. does not require eggs or butter/oil but if you wanted to no doubt you could add them.

lizab, Oct 3, 2:10am
I didn't read the 2nd post fully and asked about no eggs or butter . that's why I deleted the above . wish I hadn't now as I'm posting it again anyway as I don't like seeing 'deleted message' . sunny Sundays . shouldn't be on the computer anyway ! lol

mrsglendhu, Oct 3, 10:15pm
This makes a delicious, moist, dense loaf.

2 large over-ripe bananas, mashed
1/3 cup melted butter
1 egg, beaten
1 tsp vanilla essence
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 cup caster sugar