Like Chai Lattes? Make Your Own - easy as!

nickyd, Oct 29, 7:20am
Hi, I know this thread is old but hoping Willyow could confirm that 55 cardamon pods is correct? (and not a typo) - to me that seems an awful lot, but then I've never tried to make Chai spice before
Otherwise, does anyone else have any tried and true Chai spice recipes. I'm not a fan at all, but my husband is.
Thanks

willyow, Oct 30, 7:49pm
I gave up coffee and as a replacement discovered Chai Latte but the cost of the chai powders in the supermarkets is a bit rich. I've experimented with a few recipes - you can add a whole lot of milk power if you want - we do'nt. We make it with real milk
Recipe
55 Cardamon pods
1 teaspoon red peppercorns (optional)
1 teaspoon black peppercorns
2 tablespoons fennel seeds
2 teaspoons coriander seeds
1 teaspoon whole cloves
1 teaspoon nutmeg
1 teaspoon allspice
2 Star Anise
2 tablespoons ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ginger powder OR 3 tablespoons of finely chopped candied ginger
1 Cup coconut sugar - (or muscavado)
Optional - 1 1/2/ cups full cream milk powder

Put everything (EXCEPT Candied Ginger & Coconut sugar) in a heavy small pan on the stove over a medium heat for five-seven minutes ( your house will smell like an Indian restaurant for the next hour).
Let it cool - then use a coffee grinder to turn it into a fine powder ( `if you haven't got one try crushing the spices with a rolling pin.

Tips - cinnamon tens to float on the top - experiment without it.
To make a Chai Latte - heat half a cup of milk in a microwave, add a heaped teaspoon of the powder mix, top with boiling water.
For some reason without milk I reckon it doesn't taste that good - the more milk, the better it tastes. I am a heavy user and the above lasts about two weeks.
Get your spices from a local Indian fruit and vege shop - they are a fraction the price you pay in supermarkets.