Black boy peaches

puggy13, Mar 28, 3:30am
x3
Hi just wondering how you can preserve these (jam, bottle, freeze)? Any recipes would be greatly appreciated! ! Would be particularly interested in bottling or freezing as I have plum jam coming out my ears! ! !
I am a complete novice too so nothing too complicated :)

shazza34, Mar 28, 4:02am
x1
I made jam yesterday and it was awesome just had some on toast.
Found a recipie for roast peach chutney to try someone on here suggested it and I googled it. It is a chelsea sugar recipie.
I have also frozen a few bags pureed and now have to do something with the rest . If I had more jars I would make more jam

harrislucinda, Mar 28, 4:28am
x3
stewup and putdown in freezerthen havepuddingsin winter

indigojo, Mar 28, 5:17am
x2
I made black boyd peach jam last year (equal amounts of fruit and sugar, I added some lemon juice to help it set), it was a big hit so will make some more again this year.
I also bottled some for crumbles in winter...
If you have heaps, maybe swap with some different jams/chutneys etc with your mates? ...

sqiff, Mar 28, 7:56am
x1
I just cut the peaches in half, remove the stone and put the cut side down on trays and freeze them. Once they are frozen I then take them off the trays and pop them into bags, seal and put them back in the freezer. They are great in Winter for puddings etc.

puggy13, Mar 28, 8:07am
x3
How do you bottle? Newbie here ;) do I just put them in jars and put a sugar syrup over them or is it a bit more involved than that?

juliewn, Mar 28, 10:20am
x2
Hi Puggy. .
Welcome to preserving. . it's not hard and is very rewarding to do. . there's lots of writing below. . once you have the basics, you'll know easily what to do. . and. . you'll soon find yourself admiring your work. . :-)

I find Blackboy peaches are best preserved peeled - as the furry skin isn't the nicest once cooked. .