Absolute novice and I need to cook a FISH dish!

saullier, Sep 12, 12:15am
Hi cooking experts, I kneal in the long shadow of your excellence.
I was not brought up with seafood and know very little about it. I like snapper and tuna fish and don't really know much else.
Anwyay, I would like to go to the fish market tomorrow and buy a fish of some sort. and cook it. somehow.

Does anyone have any SIMPLE recipes for a great fish dish! And any tips too!

TIA

cookessentials, Sep 12, 12:26am
Depending on what the weather is like and what you like, you could do a simple fish curry.
1 tablespoons olive oil
2 cloves garlic, crushed
1 medium onion, finely chopped
1 teaspoon hot chilli sauce
1/2 teaspoon ground cardamom
2 teaspoons fresh chopped ginger
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon ground coriander
500g snapper Snapper fillets, cubed
150 mls chicken stock
1/4 cup coconut milk
sea salt and pepper
1/2 cup fresh coriander
1 lime, juiced
steamed jasmine rice and bok choy to serve

Heat the oil in a medium pan and stir in the garlic and onion. Cook until softened and stir in the chilli sauce, cardamom pods, ginger, cumin and coriander.

Add fish. Pour in the chicken stock and coconut milk and simmer for 2- 3 minutes or until fish is just cooked.

Stir though the coriander and lime juice and serve with steamed jasmine rice and bok choy

cookessentials, Sep 12, 12:29am
You could do a fish pie, fish cakes, crusted fish fillets.

otterhound, Sep 12, 12:39am