I'm cookin Beef Cassarole for tea

Page 1 / 2
tigga212, Mar 21, 12:15am
n it smells soo good i wanna eat it now lol...

hope it taste just as good it's my first time making it, I've used Rump steak as it was cheap at pak n save, onions, garlic, carrot's n potatios diced up.

what do u put in your's?? ;)

shop-a-holic, Mar 21, 1:53am
Beef stock, Port, Bay Leaves, Bouquet Garni, Wholeseed Mustard.

fee1965, Mar 21, 2:16am
Just a wee tip, when casserole'ing you need to buy casserole type cuts of meat, ie: chuck steak and gravy beef.These have more flavour and take long time to cook.If you use frying steak it cannot be cooked for a long time, and it has not as much flavour.I always use chuck steak for casseroles and cook for minimum of 3 hours - it comes out so tender and flavourful.A glass of red wine added also increases the body of flavour.

beaker59, Mar 21, 5:08am
Rump steak makes a great casserole, I got some of that cheap rump at PnS last week it actually was very nice rump as good as I have bought in ages tender and tasty we fried some and stewed some it was very nice either way.

nfh1, Mar 21, 5:20am
I always use Rump for casseroles - love it!

kinna54, Mar 21, 5:44am
I tend to use rump if making a casserole type that uses "strips of beef, i.e beef stroganoff, but would definitely use blade, chuck or gravy beef normally for casseroles, as these meats do like the slowing cooking, and are often more economical.
I use anything and everything in a casserole, great way of using left over vegies etc. I always ensure I have a good stock as a base.

nfh1, Mar 21, 7:06am
Heavens I thought gravy beef was for dog food. Not too good at this cooking thing!

suie1, Mar 21, 11:22pm
I put plum jam & some curry powder in mine, gives it a sweet & sour flavour & the kids devour it.

tigga212, Mar 22, 12:15am
n it smells soo good i wanna eat it now lol.