Christmas Lunch...Need Help.. First time doing...

Page 1 / 2
tipsy_bl0nde, Nov 19, 4:34am
Hi guys i really need some help. Every year its a mad rush around auckland to see my father partners mum and partners father. I decided this year we would have a xmas lunch so everyone can come to us.

I have no idea what im doing as first time hosting but would need some help with a menu and time planning to make everything and how soon i can make before xmas day.

Im a capable cook but need a bit of guidance from those with experience. My oven is small (handy :S) can do a ham though.

TIA

tipsy_bl0nde, Nov 19, 4:38am
I really want a baked ham so any glazing recipes please would be great

liamjosh, Nov 19, 4:53am
My easy ham is to criss cross ham with a knive and put a clove in each join, cover ham with pineapple ring and glaze with watties apricot spicy sauce and heat. Add more glaze as required. Easy and yummy.

tipsy_bl0nde, Nov 19, 4:57am
oooo that sounds delicious and the apricot spicy sauce isnt too tangy?

mallee, Nov 19, 5:12am
Just don't knock yourself out, it's just not worth it. Keep it simple. It's too hot for lots of palaver.

accroul, Nov 19, 5:26am
Tell people that you'll do the ham if they bring a salad/dessert.

tipsy_bl0nde, Nov 19, 7:04am
i love making a fuss :) probably will be good to bring a plate though

bisloy, Nov 19, 7:17am
The tasngy-ness of the sauce will offset the saltiness of the ham. It will be delish! Mashed kumera and crushed pineapple is lovely with it too. Just some roasted veges (seeing you have the oven on anyway), boil some good spuds and some lovely peas. Otherwise, do the things you like doing and ask the others to bring the rest!!

245sam, Nov 19, 7:43am
tipsy_bl0nde, re the Apricot Glazed Ham - as a guide, have a look at:-

http://www.foodinaminute.co.nz/Recipes/BBQ-Apricot-Glazed-Ham-with-Mustard-Fruits