Are Lindt Easter eggs vegan?

nunesy, Mar 28, 8:20am
I bought some Lindt Easter eggs - the pack has gold, red and blue wrapped eggs. I thought the blue ones were vegan but not sure now. have googled but can't find information specific to the different eggs, only the brown-ribboned Lindt bunny (ie the dark choc version). Supposed to be giving them to a friend tomorrow - anyone know if the blue-wrapped eggs are vegan? Thanks.


unknowndisorder, Mar 28, 8:41am
Are Lindt chocolate products suitable for vegetarians or vegans?
We are delighted to inform you that our chocolates are suitable for vegetarians. The only ingredients of animal origin used in the manufacture of our chocolates are milk (milk and white chocolates), egg and anhydrous milk fat/butterfat (some filled chocolates and pralines). Please always refer to the packaging for a definitive ingredient listing. Some of our products are made without any animal products, such as our Lindt EXCELLENCE range with 70%, 85%, 90% and 99% Cocoa chocolate bars, that are also suitable for a vegan diet.
http://www.lindt.co.uk/help/lindt-frequently-asked-questions/

jan2242, Mar 28, 8:08pm
They are made with Palm Oil

kaddiew, Mar 29, 1:39am
Only in some fillings; not in their plain chocolate.

"Palm oil
For our plain chocolate, we use only pure cocoa butter as vegetable fat. Only for some fillings, palm and palm kernel oil is used among other vegetable fats. In the global context, our consumption of palm oil and palm kernel oil represents approximately 0.005% of the world harvest of more than 60 million tons."

http://www.lindt-spruengli.com/palmoil/

nunesy, Oct 8, 10:44am
Thanks. I did google it myself first - just couldn't find info on the specific item I asked about whereas other items have blurbs about them. After consulting other vegans, I think the eggs are not vegan friendly, sadly.

Share this thread

Buy me a coffee :)Buy me a coffee :)