Storing Flour in Freezer

carter441, Jul 17, 2:01am
Has anyone done this please? Is it a good practice? Any tips? Any concerns? I'd appreciate your thoughts.

wasgonna, Jul 17, 2:24am
Just Google your heading. Lots of Q&A sites asking the same thing.

kay141, Jul 17, 2:32am
Why? I have been buying flour for many years and have never stored it in the freezer. I used to buy it in 20lb sacks but as I don't use much now, I buy 200g at a time at Binn Inn.

carter441, Jul 17, 3:02am
I am using 20 kg bags of flour!

kay141, Jul 17, 3:10am
But why do you need to keep them in the freezer? It you are buying in large quantities, surely you are using them reasonably quickly.

valentino, Jul 17, 3:11am
The main key thing with flour is storing in a "DRY" area, preferably in a sealed manner. The least air it is exposed to the better. FULL STOP.

lenart, Jul 17, 3:19am
Processed white flour does not need to be stored in the freezer or fridge. Only flour made from whole grains needs to be stored in the freezer to prevent it from going rancid.

uli, Jul 17, 3:37am
All flour can be stored in the freezer, provided you pack it into a thick plastic bag!

It also has the great advantage that you kill all weevils that accompany your flour to your house and prevent them from spreading to other items.

If you buy 20kg sacks because it is cheaper but you do not use it quickly then by all means keep it in the freezer.

I mill my own flour and if I have too much for a recipe it goes into a thick plastic bag into the freezer.

Also all my cracked or ground nuts go into the freezer.

buzzy110, Jul 17, 4:57am
I store mine in the freezer in original packaging. I don't use mine very fast and it is impractical to purchase just a cup or two at a time.

Lenart kindly went splits with me in a 20kg bag of strong flour a little while ago so it was important to keep it in the best possible condition.