Meringue with snax biscuits. Know the recipe!!

my_savannah, Nov 17, 2:08am
x1
Years ago I tried the above concoction and it was lovely.The biscuits were al broken up and mixed with chopped up apricots and some other stuff possibly almonds but I can't remember.I am a lazy cook and would try and make up the recipe but I have never made meringue or have no imagination when it comes to cooking! Can anyone help!

rainrain1, Nov 17, 5:14am
I know the recipe you mean, I had it here.I never tried it, but always meant to, now I can't remember which book it was in.Pretty sure it was in a locally produced recipe book.Hopefully someone will come up with the recipe for you

jrchch, Nov 17, 9:49pm
I think its an Alison Holst recipe so try her website.

rainrain1, Nov 18, 4:26am
I have found this recipe, but not sure if it is the one you want.The recipe doesn't tell you what to cook it in or on.maybe in a baking paper lined cake tin, what do you think !

Nut Torte
1/2pkt snax biscuits
1 cup sugar
1/2-1cup walnuts (chopped)
3 beaten egg whites
1/2 tsp vanilla
1 tsp BP
Mix all ingredients together after crushing biscuits and chopping walnuts.
Bake in moderate oven 30 minutes.When cool, top with whipped cream and grated chocolate.Nice instead of pavlova.

indy95, Nov 18, 10:56pm
I recall the recipe my-savannah has asked for. It is an Alison Holst recipe and I'm sure it was in one of her Kitchen Diaries. I no longer have them but I know there is at least one regular poster, 245sam, who has as I remember her mentioning them several times.

iriegirl, Nov 19, 12:10am
rainrain1, I have had that recipe for nearly 30 years! I make it about 2 or 3 times a year and its always loved, often use hazlenuts instead of walnuts for a change. And yes baking paper is the best thing to line your tin with.

rainrain1, Nov 19, 2:10am
It must be really nice then, I am going to try it for sure asap

245sam, Nov 19, 11:45am