I just cannot make biscuits!

Page 1 / 2
player_smurf, Sep 7, 1:27am
Seriously I have been baking for over 30 years and cannot make biscuits!They either sit in a lump or spread and join up.tell me why please!

niixs, Sep 7, 1:50am
I don't know why it happens but I'm the same.a really bad biscuit maker, especially the dough type ones.
I found this very easy recipe that even my 10yr can make and it seems to be fool proof!

Chocolate Chip Cookies.
100g butter or marg, softened
100g soft brown sugar
1 egg
1t vanilla essence
150g self-raising flour
75g porridge oats
50g choc chips or drops
50g white choc drops
Oven 175C fan bake. Beat butter/sugar until creamy. Add egg and vanilla and mix again. Sieve in flour and mix in. Add oats and both white and milk chocolate and mix all together.
Put generous spoon full of mixture (lumpy heaps are ok!) onto lined baking sheet and bake for about 8min then move to lower rack in oven and continue baking for futher 5 or so mins.
Cool on tray for cpl of minutes and then move to cooling rack.
Should make about 20 biscuits.

Mine are in oven as I type and smelling very yummy.
Good Luck

buzzy110, Sep 7, 2:41am
There have been many threads on this exact same problem. It seems that hardly anyone understands that the problem is usually in the creaming.

When the recipe says "cream butter and sugar" that is exactly what it means. Beat the bejesus out of it till it looks pale and creamy and there are no sugar granules visible. Now this is easier said than done. I overcame the problem many years ago by first just creaming the butter. Beat it until it is pale in colour. Then add the sugar 1/3rd at a time. Others in here have suggested using caster sugar which I think is infinitely sensible. Just be careful to measure by weight as caster sugar is smaller and you can get more by volume.