How to tart up frozen vegetables?

chchpukeko, May 22, 6:50am
I'm a very lazy cook and mostly use frozen vegetables, generally cooked in the microwave. Usually it will be a vegetable mix such as stirfry veg.
What I was wondering was if anyone has any tips on making them more interesting - preferably something easy...

speckle77, May 22, 6:59am
cheese sauce,
variation of white sauce to suit your taste,
put them in a fritata (sp) type thing,
quiche,
vege casserole,
vege fried rice...

lythande1, May 22, 8:10pm
Just stop being lazy and use something other than just that.

norse_westie, May 22, 9:05pm
Mix them up with some couscous and some spices. Great to eat hot or cold.
Throw them in with a curry or casserole.

norse_westie, May 22, 9:06pm
Actually for one person they work out very economical, and in winter even more so. I have a big family and in winter those premixed frozen vegies are a staple as they are better quality, and much cheaper than buying "fresh".

chchpukeko, May 23, 6:50am
I'm a very lazy cook and mostly use frozen vegetables, generally cooked in the microwave. Usually it will be a vegetable mix such as stirfry veg.
What I was wondering was if anyone has any tips on making them more interesting - preferably something easy.

speckle77, May 23, 6:59am
cheese sauce,
variation of white sauce to suit your taste,
put them in a fritata (sp) type thing,
quiche,
vege casserole,
vege fried rice.

chchpukeko, May 28, 6:42am
Thanks norse.It is also economical if you are a couple like us who work very long hours, live out of town and don't get much opportunity to go shopping.
In addition, they have been shown to have similar nutritional value as fresh vegetables.And I'd prefer some ideas rather than criticism of my eating habits.At least I'm eating vegetables!

I was wondering about things like honey glazing or adding slithered almonds or balsamic vinegar etc.(preferably gluten free ideas please)

gardie, May 28, 6:55am