Preserves Thread - Jams, Pickles, Relishes, etc

Page 2 / 45
juliewn, Jun 28, 7:59am
Bumping for Deagle04 and Pickled Garlic at post 5 in this thread. .

juliewn, Jul 3, 3:00pm
bumping along. . ... ... ... ...

rema, Jul 3, 9:52pm
Kiwifruit Jam Has anyone a lovely recipe for same - or if it has already been posted, can some direct me to it
Many thanks in advance

juliewn, Jul 7, 11:40am
Bumping for you Rema... . .

juliewn, Jul 7, 11:43am
Hi Rema. . I've included a recipe for Strawberry Jam in posts 7 and 8 on the first page of this thread - you can use that same method for kiwifruit and for any other types of jam you'd like to make. Kiwifruit jam tends to go brownish once cooked - it tastes good, just the colour is affected - some people add a little green food colouring to change that. . it's up to you. Enjoy your jam. . :-)

jenna68, Jul 10, 3:33am
up it goes . . x

juliewn, Jul 12, 9:01am
Hiya Tracey. . :-)

larisse, Jul 13, 12:11am
Hello! =0) I'm just starting out with preserves and so far have only made a tomatoe relish which has been a hit & not mamed anyone! I was wondering if there is a special name for the funnel that has a wide end especially for preserving? I am wanting to get one but not sure if it has a special name? Would greatly appreciate any advice. Thank You =0)

juliewn, Jul 14, 4:24pm
Hi Larisse. . congratulations on your relish. . I bet it tastes good. . :-). . They're called jam funnels and aren't very easy to find - though there's a stainless one here: http://www.thecookshop.co.nz/preserving.html - price not included however. A way to make your own? - use a larger ordinary funnel (they're available in sets at $2 type stores) and cut carefully (as the plastic is hard) with a sharp knife around the base of the bowl part of the funnel, cutting in a circle that will fit into the top of any jars you're likely to use. Smooth off any rough patches around the circle - and you have your funnel. . Enjoy making your preserves. . :-)