Preserved Tomato Soup 'rancid' ?

pipilongstockng, Mar 1, 2:13am
Hi there ....... I'm curious about something I was told the other night.My friend said that the preserving of last years tomatoes, into soup, ended up in disaster, as the soup went off......rancid was the word she used.She then said it was because she'd used iodised salt ....... is this correct ? ...... I didn't go any further and ask if the jars had 'dipped down',or if she had used butter, 2 things which I would have suspected, before, iodised salt....anyone able to enlighten me...... thanks

245sam, Mar 1, 2:21am
pipilongstockng, I have no experience re bottled tomato soup as I freeze ours but I was always taught that for preserving purposes, iodised salt should not be used, and I recall that one year my Mum had disappointing results when she mistakenly preserved/bottled green beans with iodised salt.:-))

pipilongstockng, Mar 1, 2:24am
oh thanks for that 245sam....... she was so adamant (in a nice way!) that it was the salt, I didn't want to query it.I freeze my tomatoes too, and then make 'fresh' whatever I want, mid winter.I think things are nicer that way, and you're not slaving over the stove with everything, from the garden in summer.

36michelle, Mar 1, 5:00am
I make tomato sauce and the recipe specifically says 'non iodised' salt...I didnt know why.

cgvl, Mar 1, 7:29am
I've and my mum have had no problems doing tomato sauce using iodised salt.
BUT:
I do know that she has told me that only once did she try making tomato soup and spaghetti and both times they went off. Not sure why but I wanted to try to make some and she suggested that I freeze instead. Think it may be to do with the fact there is no preservative(such as vinegar) in the mix, rather than the salt.

oh_hunnihunni, Mar 1, 7:36am