Advice on choc dipping truffles please

Page 2 / 2
meegs35, Dec 17, 7:16pm
Don't freeze them for too long or else when the chocolate sets it can crack as the truffle inside softens. I use either block chocolate or melts. I find with the block chocolate that it can be hard to avoid a 'bloom' as it really needs to be tempered but the melts seem to set well and look good. I wouldn't thin with cream but would add a bit of oil.

daleaway, Dec 17, 11:48pm
Do your chocolates stay glossy after being melted and dipped?

One lot of mine is dull looking (I dipped in melts with nothing added), and the Rum and Raisin Clusters have gone quite dull and spiky - was that the effect of the alcohol content? (These were just teaspoon drops of the melted chocolate with raisins soaked in rum stirred into it.)

How do you get chocolates with a shine on? Is there a better product than the melts?

Also, if using silicon iceblock moulds for chocolates, should they be oiled first?

Chocolate novice here!

timetable, Dec 18, 12:07am
i use choc drops from bin inn - cadbury ones...i always use a bit of kremelta to thin the choc down, and use a swril that i brought for about $5 at spot light.always frezze the truffles first and choc dip when frozen.any liquid in the choc will effect it.i don't use alcohol but when i do clusters i just put in all the nuts and fruit into the choc and then mix with a spoon and put the spoonfulls on gladwrap on the bench....choc done at home won't have the same shine etc that store bought ones do.....you moulds should be aok - enjoy and just go with the flow..it just takes practice....i melt mine in a bowl over boiling water - once the water is boiling just turn it off and place the bowl on the pot.

meegs35, Dec 22, 4:33am
To get the shine on the chocolate it needs to be tempered first.

babytears, Aug 14, 4:43am
Shopaholic. Where can I get some of that gorgeous glitter you used on your truffles!

gardie, Nov 19, 7:21am