Watery quiche or scambled eggs.

may321, Oct 16, 6:49am
Can some one please tell me if they know ,,, why does quiche or scambled eggs become quite watery.i have asked many people this and no one can tell me why this happens sometimes.i thought maybe overcooked.but have redone this and still can happen.I am a cook in an establishment and have a good knowledge of cooking.but this is one thing that has stumped me.can anyone give any suggestions.!

sossie1, Oct 16, 6:54am
The only time i have ever had watery scrambled eggs, it was because water was added to them when they were beaten,

the best scrambled eggs (imho), are made with nothing added except seasoning, and stirred in bits of butter added when they are just beginning to set.

Watery quiche! never heard that one before. I make a white sauce, add eggs and cheese to that, never had any water issues.

and, as always, google is your friend

cookessentials, Oct 16, 6:55am
Usually too much milk has been added.

may321, Oct 16, 7:30am
thanks for your input.i thought too much milk or overcooked.thanks.

agave1, Oct 16, 8:04am
pretty sure it's because they're overcooked.take them off the stove just before you think it's cooked, the residual heat will do the rest.

ange164, Oct 16, 8:06am
my mama says it's because they're cooked too fast. (over cooked I guess.) I've found it to be accurate when it's scrambled eggs. (don't know about quiche.) If I cook them slower, they don't go watery. Cook 'em on a higher temp and they do.

cookessentials, Oct 16, 8:58am
I always cook mine slowly and then turn the heat off and let the residual heat do the rest. I like them creamy and soft.

may321, Oct 16, 9:03am
thanks a lot folks.

may321, Oct 16, 9:05am
if i make the quiche with cream and eggs.not a problem.seems to be when using milk.i make a huge amount at work.not just a small one.one to feed 40 people.its funny.i have asked chefs this question.and none of them could give me an answer.but knew what i was talking about.