Soggy pie bottoms

Page 1 / 2
missunderstood, May 10, 5:41am
I'm making my own for my lunchbar and when they come out of the oven they are perfect.The bottoms are solid and cooked well, but once they go into the pie warmer over time they become soft and oily.I've tried just sitting them on racks, used grease proof paper and sat them on metal trays, but the results are always the same.Would someone know how to stop this from happening!TIA

kassie48, May 10, 6:09am
What ingredients are in the base!

missunderstood, May 10, 6:11am
I'm using flaky pastry.

retired, May 10, 6:27am
Better to use short crust for a pie base and I always sprinkle the bottom with ground rice or semolina which helps to stop the bottom going soggy.Some people bush with egg white.Hope this helps.

missunderstood, May 10, 6:41am
I'll definitely try that.thanks.I'm new to this pie making lark and they must taste good because I've sold 40 in two days, but if I use shortcrust, what should I use for the sides and top.I don't think I can use the rice idea because I fill the pie before I bake it.

roundtop, May 10, 6:53am
Make your own pastry and that wont happen

missunderstood, May 10, 7:09am
Make my own!LOL.if only I had the time and the inclination, but I've neither.

bill241, May 10, 7:20am
Someone told me that putting grated cheese under the pastry stops them from going soggy, if that is suitable for the taste of your pie. I have not tried this myself though.

ace441, May 10, 8:26am
Slightly beaten egg white can be brushed on the surface of the pastry to act as a "sealant". Prick the base of the pie/pastry/quiche base and brush the egg white over it. Allow it to harden prior to adding the filling also make sure your filling is cold before putting into the pastry base.

wayne472, May 10, 9:16am