Learning to cook (meals from scratch) PLEASE HELP

Page 1 / 2
jimmy500hp, May 7, 7:57pm
Please help me.Im a really bad cook (never been taught) and would love to learn. I dont even know how to use herbs. I have a large family and are having to now go on a budget. I want to plan my meals ect but its always the same packet stuff. I know alot of you guys make stuff from scratch and would love to know the recipe and advice. PLEASE HELP. I havelooked but their are no cooking classes in my town at the mo.

homecomfitz, May 7, 8:06pm
Check out Jamie Oliver's book "The Ministry of Food" from the library - it is a really good place to start.

biggles45, May 7, 8:06pm
Get a decent (but simple) recipe book to start with. Make some recipes from there, it will tell you exactly how much herbs etc to use. Once you are confident with those you will get to know how spices/herbs and other ingredients change the taste, then you can start to experiment. Although the initial outlay for herbs/spices can seem dear, they last for ages, and just buy the one or two that you need for a specific dish and add to them gradually. Packet stuff in general works out more expensive than buying individual herbs as long as you buy ones that you use regularly.

ETA Jo Seager recipes are very simple and don't use expensive ingredients. I think you can download a lot of her recipes too.

amyfromthenaki, May 7, 8:11pm
I've started buying the herbs & spices in little plastic jars from Davis or use containers that are more or less airtight. Pantry moth love herbs, even the ones I use regularly - it's a curse.

olwen, May 7, 8:20pm
I've bought a nujmber of herbs and spices from countdown in the Select range.They are at reasonable prices in nice jars.For refills I'll get it from the bulk food places or New World.The New World ones are in nice solid snaplock bags.