Muffins and cupcakes disasters

52many, Mar 23, 5:12am
Right, I am over stuffing up muffins and cupcakes. Don't get me wrong, they taste awesome, the flavour is good, texture etc.but why oh why do they always form mountain tips! I think it could be because I am a very heavy handed cook and overmix! I have tried to be light handed but I end up being heavy handed.I usually use a spoon, wooden or otherwise to mix.would a fork help! Any helpful advice would be greatly appreciated!

ange164, Mar 23, 5:35am
peaks are a result of overmixing usually, you're right there. You could try popping on a food glove and mixing with your cupped hand. That method worked all right for me in the cafe.

52many, Mar 23, 7:06am
Hmmmmm nevr thought of that ange164.thanks for that.will try next time!

lulu239, Mar 25, 4:12am
I use a spatula to mix muffins. I slide it down the side and gently get to the dry stuff. It's worth a try.

kimkat1, Mar 26, 6:22am
Also if my oven is too hot they peak. try turning it down just a little.

luckyduck, Mar 26, 7:56am
What I learnt today on food channel was that the ingrediants need to be room temperature. Could be worth a try.

fifie, Mar 26, 8:55am
This tip came from here not sure who posted it, may help you if you put milk in them.Use a different temperature for the milk to produce different tops.
Use very hot milk for a Flat domed cupcake
Use hot milk for a Small domed cupcake
Use warm milk for a high domed cupcake.

marcs, Mar 26, 9:20am
Try this one for cupcakes. Has flat top and a bit of a unusual way of making it but it tastes good. Also you are overmixing your mixtures. With muffin mix till just combined and no more.

80 g unsalted butter soft
280 g castor sugar
240g plain flour
1 tbs baking powder
1/4 tsp salt (omit if using salted butter)
240ml full cream milk
1 tsp vanilla
2 large eggs

Oven temp 190c

In a free standing mixer or with a electric beater, mix the butter, sugar, flour, baking powder and salt till it resemble fine breadcrumbs.