Making a steam pud, quick need an answer...

korbo, Jan 21, 8:05pm
decided just now to try the steam pud in the crockpot.
got the recipe off here, but do i cover the bowl with the pud in, if so, gladwrap or tinfoil....thanks.

lilyfield, Jan 21, 8:07pm
any

245sam, Jan 21, 8:09pm
korbo, yes cover the bowl and I would use foil.:-))

korbo, Jan 21, 9:44pm
have it in the crockpot, but just realise i havent put the bowl on a trivet, dont have one. will it be ok..
Did have a little bit of a job when placing the bowl into the crockpot. it kinda dropped down.
any hints for an easier way

melford, Jan 21, 9:51pm
Put an upturned saucer in and sit it on that.

korbo, Jan 21, 9:58pm
it is too hot to handle now...not sure how i am going to get the bowl out of the crockpot either.
I am a pretty good cook, and should know all the answers to this, but have never made a steampud before.

harrislucinda, Jan 21, 10:20pm
mycrockpotsayputpudding,sinwaterjusttocoverthebottomsothebowlisnotsittingdirectontheheat

ibcreative, Jan 21, 10:25pm
Yes, a recipe on here says to just put 1 1/2 cups of water in the crockpot, so you should be able to remove the pudding bowl with an oven glove.

creeky1, Jan 21, 11:49pm
when i steam my pud it's 2 layer grease proof and 2 layer tinfoil tied with string. Usually it's for christmas pud and these suckers take 5 hrs to cook so the cover has to last the distance.

korbo, Jan 22, 12:56am
well that steam pud was a disaster....the birds are now enjoying an early dessert......

I followed the recipe correctly, cooked for 3.25hrs. when I took the lid off, and the tinfoil off, it had risen to the top of bowl.
Left it for 10mins to cool a bit, it had shrunk a lot 1/2 in fact..got it out, tipped onto the plate, and after about 5mins of poking and prodding it came out. It looked great, with the gold syrup on the top....welll....put the knife in, and it was 3/4 doughy. you really couldnt eat it.....it was horrible...