Pork Belly Presentation.

punkinthefirst, Jul 27, 3:19am
I wouldn't expect pork belly necessarily to have crackling, either. But I wouldn't have bothered with this dish. it screams "LOOK AT ME!
I'M A FANCY CHEF!", and has little respect for the basic ingredients. way too many ingredients, and confusing flavours and styles.

cinderellagowns, Jul 27, 5:41am
I love crackling but I wouldn't expect it unless stated on the menu. That sounds like a clash of flavours though, and it's kind of weird to say "a" spring onion rather than just spring onion.

cinderellagowns, Jul 27, 5:43am
Oh wait, I read that wrong, it's describing the salad as a whole? So "A spring onion, mint, chilli and coriander salad.

yodel40, Jul 24, 12:49am
Is it fair to say that Pork belly should always be presented with crackling ?
Or are there variations in certain menus with which this is left out.
Example: Would you expect there to be crackling in this menu -
PORK BELLY. Slow-roasted pork belly with grilled chorizo, tiger prawns, a spring onion, mint, chili and coriander salad with a Thai dressing, and aioli.?

holly-rocks, Jul 24, 1:18am
No it wouldn't expect to see pork cracking as its wasn't listed.
There are no rules saying they must go together :)

davidt4, Jul 24, 1:41am
I don't expect pork belly to have cracklings unless specified. There are lots of other ways to cook it, notably braised with Chinese master stock.

That menu description sounds a real mishmash, especially the addition of chorizo and ailoli to what otherwise reads like a South East Asian dish. Where is it from?

jia5, Jul 24, 1:47am
There's a lot going on in that menu, wouldn't the flavours clash?
Whoops, edited to say as the meat was roasted I'd probably expect crackling.

lythande1, Jul 24, 2:11am
Yes.
Yuk. I hate chorizo, not fond of prawns, nor coriander leaves (although the ground seed is OK), and I hate garlic, so no aioli.

But yes, crackle is half the reason for pork belly.

fifie, Jul 24, 2:43am