Freezer meals

nattles88, Sep 26, 8:34pm
I have a friend whose having a baby in a few weeks and i thought instead of baby clothes and the like i was going to make her a bunch of frozen meals for her and hubby. I am a farmer and I have an overload of sausages, mince and weiner schnitzel in the freezer. I havent been able to think of much beyond shepards pie, spag bol and lasange and im not entirely sure about foods that freeze well.
Oh and I have an 8.5month old chasing me around the house so the meals cant be too labour intensive!

dezzie, Sep 26, 8:54pm
hmm, the things you have said, plus some burger middles/rissoles, precooked then freeflow frozen.
To be honest, all the things you have listed are fairly much quick cook anyway, so unless they are farming as well, how about just giving them the meat as it is!

nik12, Sep 26, 9:15pm
When we moved a friend did a heap of meals for my freezer (was a god send!).She put most of them in those bigger sized gladware containers and that was perfect size for our family of 5.
She did .
Curried sausages and rice (rice went in the bottom, meat on top, I defrosted and it mixed through was lovely)
Mac and cheese
Some kind of mince with vege, curry and vermicilli noodles (need to get that recipie!)
Pumpkin soup
Stew with dumplings in (stuffed that one up first time I defrosted, didn't realise bout the dumplings and stirred it too much being impatient)
Then before spring I was cooking double and freezing half.Did chicken chassurre (um spelling!) Devilled sausages and other stews (I always put lots of vege in even if recipie doesn't say too).Then I just had to do spuds or rice.

spuddybuddy, Sep 26, 9:28pm