Creaming butter and sugar

kelzzz, Apr 14, 7:08am
Im a bit of a novice at baking. What is the correct process for this please?

gaspodetwd, Apr 14, 7:09am
I always use a stiffspatula. Or an electric hand mixer - cream until smooth and white.

jubellsrose, Apr 14, 7:10am
beat butter and sugar until the sugar is disolved and mixture looks the colour of cream.

elliehen, Apr 14, 7:33am
All of the above :)A hand-held electric beater does a great job. You can't beat it too much - you need to dissolve the sugar in the butter so it's not grainy and is very pale and soft.

The second stage is usually beating in eggs well, one at a time, until they combine. At the third stage, adding dry ingredients, don't beat any more. Just stir in with a spatula or spoon.

cookessentials, Apr 14, 7:35am
All of the above, except, you need to start with SOFTENED ( not melted) butter. It will make a far easier job to cream softened butter and sugar. Personally, I only ever use caster sugar as it dissolves easily and quickly.

kelzzz, Apr 14, 9:35am
Thanks for the tips :) i have used a wooden spatula. Maybe a mixer would be better.

What happens if you don't mix it properly though? Like if the sugar isn't properly dissolved? Will it affect the outcome?

harrislucinda, Apr 14, 9:55am
no willstillturn out ok

cookessentials, Apr 14, 10:02am
it will be fine, the tip is to get it to the point that it changes colour - to a pale yellow.

valentino, Apr 14, 9:07pm
Totally agree with cookessentials,

One must never melt butter when creaming with sugar, very important! ! ! !

babytears, Apr 14, 11:54pm
Sometimes to soften the butter I sit the bowl in the sink which is filled with hot water... . sometimes this causes the butter to melt. What I've done to remedy this is give the (softened/melted) butter and sugar a good whip with the mixer and then put in freezer for about 3/4 mins - pull it out and beat again... . it turns out beautiful!

valentino, Feb 1, 11:42am