Electric Guitar Birthday Cake Ideas Please.

dotty23, Jul 22, 5:34am
Hello people. I'm going to make an electric guitar birthday cake for my daughter,and was wondering if anyone had any ideas for the various parts please. I have checked out a few online & see one person used the gold covered hersheys chocs for the knobs which looked effective. I'd especially love ideas for the strings. I've made an acoustic guitar cake before & wasn't particularly happy with the strings. I think I tried licorice & ended up just putting lines on with rolled up pettinice. I'm just an amateur so don't have any fancy gear. Just wondering if others out there have made one & what they used.Thanks in advance.

carlos57, Jul 22, 6:33am
Not much help from me. I just looked in my cake book, which has an acoustic guitar, and they use hat elastic, so definitely not edible!

carter19, Jul 22, 6:48am
What about the licorce that is grooved! You could cut it so that its very fine for the strings

pengy2, Jul 22, 6:52am
What about spaghetti (raw) nice straight lines.not tasty but would look like strings!

phoenix2004, Jul 22, 6:56am
How about just piping icing to make the strings!

molly37, Jul 22, 7:02am
facebook or browse rozzies cakes. She is awesome. Lots of good ideas. Pretty sure she has done an electric guitar too.

kiwigal007, Jul 22, 7:04am
Not sure if it would work but what about using fondant icing/coloured beforehand rolled out in really thin sausages! It would be edible and you should be able to get it pretty straight :)

fifie, Jul 22, 8:12am
Royal icing piped for strings, or spaghetti, brushed with silver.Those long rice noodles cooked few seconds then you can handle them, and layed out to dry. Or for unedible ones, white or silver embroidery floss, or fishing line.

dotty23, Jul 22, 8:35am
Wow! Great ideas coming in, thanks.

motgirl, Jul 22, 10:44am

motgirl, Jul 22, 10:48am

dotty23, Jul 22, 11:15am