Homemade hot cross buns using breadmaker...

Page 2 / 3
camper18, Apr 3, 9:55pm
The yeast I had all the trouble with had an expiry date of 23rd July 2011 so that is why it took me so long to solve all the problems I was having.I have been making bread basicly everyday for the past 15 years in several different brands of b/makers and this is the first time I have struck such a problem. All sorted now though (I hope)and thanks again KInna 45 for your recipe's.

fifie, Apr 3, 10:07pm
Have made these this week, i have this identical recipe written down as a old Alison Holst one. In my case i am experimenting with yeast at the mo, as i got the active one instead of surebake red top i always use. They were made in my old panasonic breadmaker, on raisin dough mode, made 12-16 buns, were okay just a little heavier than my usual ones,which come out of the breadmaker book and uses the red top yeast. I'm convinced that the surebake red top yeast is the best to use,i like the milk powder and little orange rind in them to it improves the flavour.

lizab, Apr 3, 10:59pm
I make these a couple of times a week and they're lovely - definitely a tried and true recipe. Can be frozen and reheated in microwave beautifully! (haven't ever managed to make a decent cross on them for Easter though - I've tried many a time!)

Raisin Buns
Into the breadmaker pan put 1 1/2 cups tepid water, 1 tbsp (or a big splash) of oil, 3 heaped cups of plain flour, 1 tsp salt, 1 dsp white sugar, 2 tbsp milk powder (optional), 1 big tbsp cinnamon, 1 big tbsp mixed spice and 1 tbsp Surebake yeast (red lid)

Set the machine to the dough cycle. After 15 mins, add 1 heaped cup of raisins. Once the dough is ready (my machine takes 1 1/2 hours) remove and shape into 12 balls. Place in a roasting dish and leave to rise till doubled in size. Brush tops with a beaten egg and bake at 190 degrees, fan bake for 20 mins. Remove to a wire rack as soon as they come out of the oven.

juddy1, Jun 3, 9:33am