Baking for Sports Snacks

Page 2 / 2
elliehen, Jan 20, 7:09am
I agree.I have marathon runners in my family - they would be laughing at that ill-informed advice.Obviously it's not from personal experience.

sarahb5, Jan 21, 1:05am
Thanks - I have had some experience of sportsmen in our family stopping mid-race to throw up and that's the last thing you need to do when you're trying to concentrate on winning!Mr 18 has learnt from experience that he can't eat too much before competition - just plenty of quick-fire energy foods and lots to drink.

sarahb5, Jan 21, 1:07am
I know - borders on child (or athlete) abuse I'm sure but he knows what works for him and at 5.30 in the morning it also needs to be something requiring very little thought or preparation!

kay141, Jan 21, 1:36am
You will have the food police after you shortly. I feel for the teenagers trying to train at Uli's pool with up to 8 per lane. Does that mean they can't swim too fast or they bang into the one in front. And they can only do it if enough lanes are available! I think the way they do it here with the pools closed to the public during certain times is much better.

sarahb5, Jan 21, 1:43am
That's how it is here - that's why they train at such ungodly times of the morning (5.30 - 7.30) or at night.I'm not sure how many in Mr 18's lane but it certainly wouldn't be 8 - that'd be chaos!

kay141, Jan 21, 2:01am
Our local pool is closed for training early some mornings and some nights. No public admission at all during those times. It is caters for the local schools so even during the day, it is sometimes not available to the public. And then there are things like aquarobics which would make lane swimming difficult. They are all rate payer subsidised and the schools etc. pay a price, so I guess it all comes down to economics. it may be that because the council runs several pools, they can stagger the times.

uli, Jan 21, 4:27am