Raw milk.

ldbaqbeak, Apr 4, 8:23pm
Anyone use raw milk straight from the cow! Any tips! We have a jersey cow and are thinking of drinking the raw milk.I like the idea of not needing to kill off all of the good bacteria in order to get rid of the bad.
This is all new to me, I'm a lifestyle block novice, so would appreciate any advice.

4meows, Apr 4, 8:31pm
Advice!Just drink it :)
Treat as normal milk, it will start to smell sour before it goes off unlike homogenised milk that just goes foul.Personally I don't like to keep raw milk longer than a week.Jersey milk is the best!

cgvl, Apr 4, 9:15pm
oh yum, if you leave it to sit for a bit the cream rises to the top. You can then carefully scoop off the cream to use as cream or to make butter with.
Jersey is the best for this as it has the richest/creamiest milk.

harrislucinda, Apr 4, 9:38pm
sameasabove,butdontlikedrinkingitwarmthough

vmax2, Apr 4, 10:51pm
Welcome to the club.I too milk jerseys (2) on a lifestyle block.Just drink and enjoy.I keep the milk for a day and then scoop the cream off the top with a soup ladle.Learn to make yoghurt and cheese with the milk too.It is such good food.Are you milking by hand or pump!It's lovely to have that daily close contact with the cow.You can go out there and talk to her and get all your problems off your chest.You will learn through your mistakes.Or at least I have.Enjoy.

ldbaqbeak, Apr 5, 10:02am
Yes we are going to learn to milk by hand.
Thanks for the advice about leaving it sitting for day, I wasnt sure how long to wait.
So many people think we are gross for considering it and will get sick!
Are you absolutely fastidious with hygiene! Should I be concerned about contaminated milk!

harrislucinda, Apr 5, 10:22am
you willbemilkingeverydaysojustkeepenoughback
whatyoudontusegetapigtheylovemilk

vmax2, Apr 5, 10:36am