Jam Advise Please

Page 1 / 2
maneqr1, Jul 30, 6:08am
I want to make a lemon, lime & orange marmalade. I have some of the Chelsea jam set sugar. How do you think it will taste, how best to make it, etc. Thanks

cookessentials, Jul 30, 7:16am
It will be lovely. I love a triple citrus marmalade. A friend of mine makes one which is just delicious. I have never used the jam setting sugar, I just use caster sugar

maneqr1, Jul 30, 7:33am
Oh good - I've only got the 1 lime though so should I substitute an orange for a lime or what?

cookessentials, Jul 30, 7:46am
What is the total amount of fruit? Ie weight.

maneqr1, Jul 30, 9:13am
Not sure I understand your question. I have lots of oranges & lemons, just 1 lime. I was going to use the recipe in the Edmonds Cook Book. Being a novice, I'm not sure about lemon or orange quantities!

beaker59, Jul 30, 9:56am
Basically quantities come down to taste I like a fruity and coarse. a mixture of grapefruit lemons oranges or limes in any ratio seems to work well though a lemon or two in each batch is a good idea.

I use 2 L of fruit pulp, I cut mine in a food processor on a coarse setting, soak the fruit overnight with 2L of water then next day bring to a boil and simmer for about an hour or so until fruit is very soft then add 2Kg of ordinary sugar bring to a brisk boil stirring to stop burning on bottom for around 20 min test for set, then into jars. Always sets well if the fruit isn't over ripe.

Makes about 8 good sized jars.

pickles7, Jul 30, 10:17am
Three fruit marmalade.
preserving pan
sugar thermometer

1 kg of grapefruit [poor-mans oranges]
1 kg navel oranges
2 lemons
4 liters water
5 kg white sugar

slice the fruit thinly, discard pips.
Put the fruit into the preserving pan
cover with the water and leave overnight.
Next morning bring the fruit to the boil and simmer uncovered for 1&1/2 hours.
warm the sugar in the oven