My plan this year

Page 1 / 2
falconhell2002, Jan 6, 7:16am
Bump for this year

rusticedge, Jan 6, 11:37pm
Hi Whiskey13 . for the rhubarb champagne, could I use my stainless steel preserving pan to make it in or does it have to be a plastic bucket! thanks

whiskey13, Jan 7, 3:33am
Hi rusticedge, any pan (not aluminium though) that's big enough should do. But i have only ever used my bucket. So i don't know how well it would turn out.

falconhell2002, Feb 18, 9:13am
I would like to start making things to give in baskets for Christmas.The problem is that I have never done anything like it before.I envision making something each month that can be put away until Christmas and then given in baskets to friends.I have no idea what to make that will last that long.If anyone has the time could you please suggest something easy and fairly cheap made with produce that is in season at the moment that will store till December and then some.I would also appreciate it if you have time to post tried and loved recipes.Thanks so much.

falconhell2002, Feb 18, 9:21am
I plan on making Lemon Curd and Lemon Cordial, just waiting for my brothers lemon tree to grow some more fruit after his dogs totally stripped it awhile ago.

greerg, Feb 18, 10:39pm
Both of those are good in baskets, as are home-made jams, chutneys and sauces which are made with summer/autumn produce.If you want them to look super fresh and bright make them now and freeze them.Closer toe Christmas you could make and freeze some shortbread stars and in December make some fudge and truffles.A mix of lemon curd and cordial, a berry jam, plum chutney and apricot sauce would look colourful and varied.If you want to save money on baskets, shallow boxes covered in bright or foll paper look atttactive.

toadfish, Feb 18, 10:49pm
From whiskey in the budgets thread, this should keep.

norse_westie, Feb 18, 10:53pm