What can I use instead of Mace please?

Page 1 / 2
kermitnz1, Feb 2, 9:41am
I really want to make the edmonds plum sauce tomorrow, but I have spent $25 on gas running around everywhere looking for Mace and not one of the supermarkets has it. One had an empty space where it was meant to be according to the label, but none on order, and the other 4 had no space for it at all. Is there anything I can use instead please?

alebix, Feb 2, 9:49am
nutmeg?

alebix, Feb 2, 9:51am
It comes from the same tree/nut etc. .

kermitnz1, Feb 2, 9:59am
oh, there you go you learn something every day lol, thanks alebix. I have no idea what mace is as I've never used it before. Does it smell and taste like nutmeg?

245sam, Feb 2, 10:00am
From:-http://homecooking. about.com/library/weekly/blspicesub.htm

"Substitutes for Mace are Allspice; cinnamon; ginger; or nutmeg"

and from:- http://www.cdkitchen.com/features/tips. php

"Use ground allspice, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg or cloves, starting with half the amount specified in the recipe and adding more to taste. "

Hope that helps. :-))

kermitnz1, Feb 2, 10:01am
thank you very much 245 :-)

kob, Feb 2, 6:04pm
mace is the outer shell of the nutmeg and nutmeg is the best substitution for it, it has been hard to get for along time

cookessentials, Feb 2, 8:38pm
amazing that the "police" are out in force again - you are the kind of people that make this message board a not so pleasant place for some people to come. if helping someone out by getting them some mace bothers you, then at least be upfront about it. I dont SELL the stuff, I was merely offering to help a fellow board member by sending them some - not for making ANY profit. I wont bother next time - have a great day! and may the bird of paradise... ... ... ... ... ... ...

kermitnz1, Feb 2, 9:03pm
Thank you kob, I like leaning new things, so now I know exactly what Mace is which helps a lot.