halal information

nikrs, Jan 29, 8:48am
hiall i have recently taken up a new position withmy company, and to help offer a wide range of food for the different etnic groups at my new site i need a crash course in halal foods, cooking/preperation methods etc. any advice would be much appreciated. thanks :}

joseph2404, Jan 29, 9:11am
dont think the cooking matters if you purchase from a hala butchers theres a good one in dominiom road, however im no expert

maxwell.inc, Jan 29, 9:26am
ur sitting on a wealth of information at ur finger tips ;o)

http://en. wikipedia.org/wiki/Halal

http://www.halal.com. au/articles/index. php

http://www.squidoo.com/organic-halal-meat

nikrs, Jan 29, 10:41am
thanks for the suggestions, I look foward to learning more! ! ! !

duckmoon, Jan 29, 11:05am
when we had a couple of musliems for dinner (in a group of other people), the advise I got was
* they won't drink alcohol
* either serve halal meat (it is killed in a particular way) or have a vegetarian option
* they never eat pig products.

duckmoon, Jan 29, 11:07am
Not sure that their is food preparation issues... Unlike Jewish folk who will lots of things (but not pig products and a few others), but those who are eating Kosher, don't mix milk products and meat products in the same dish/on the same plate. (way over simiplified, but it is a beginning point for Kosher)

beaker59, Jan 29, 11:25am
Serve bacon tell them its Halal lamb they will love it trust me.

male_timaru, Jan 29, 6:14pm
Halal meat is no different from other meat - they bless it and process it differently at slaughterboard time - they cut the animal in a certain way that's all! ! the meat itself is the same as we non-halal eaters eat! ! lol

nikrs, Jan 29, 10:23pm
haha u guys are funny! ! ! male_timaru what are you doing out of the motoring section? ? ? ? I do know a wee bit, and the ladies at work are being very helpfull, just feel like a idiot goig ummmm so can you guys eat this? ? ? ? ... . . or this... . . haha