Why haven't I tried this before .

sarahb5, Mar 4, 2:01am
Just won a prize pack from Barkers and it included a jar of quince paste which I've never tried before - had it with some Brie on a croissant for lunch - it's delicious!

What foods have you put off tasting for some reason and found they were delicious when you finally did?

jan2242, Mar 4, 2:48am
The one I remember the most was Blue Cheese. Couldn't stand the sight or smell of it and finally tried in when I was in my 40's. Just LOVE it now! And the bluer the better.

sarahb5, Mar 4, 2:51am
I know what you mean - my dad ate blue cheese so I tried to like it for him but I was about 40 until I really liked it rather than pretending

huntlygirl, Mar 4, 6:49am
l have made my own quince paste and jelly yummy. My 4 yr old loves it on blue cheese, l hate blue cheese.

uli, Mar 4, 6:57am
This is where the slow cooker comes in handy - but even there you have to scrape and stir at least every 20 minutes!

autumnwinds, Mar 4, 7:43am
Ditto. make huge amounts each year.
And it's even easier, since I learnt the trick of doing both jam and paste in the microwave - no burning on the bottom! I also make plum and other fruit pastes - so nice with cheese and crackers, and great for gifts. Kmart has gorgeous little ovalish pottle with airtight seals, in a pack of 5 or so, for cheap - excellent to put the cooled paste into.

Why hadn't I tried pomegranate molasses before last year? Darned if I know, but it gets well-used now!

blands70, Mar 4, 9:03am
I make quince jelly every year but would love to have a good paste recipe. I tried it once but it involved days (literally) in the oven on a very low heat. It was ok but not great. Anyone have a good recipe they can share?

autumnwinds, Mar 4, 1:14pm