Is oatbran made out of

darren-j1, Nov 19, 6:25am
oats or porridge im new at this thanks

artemis, Nov 19, 6:54am
I believe it is just the outer husk of oat grains. Like normal bran is the husk pf wheat grains. Makes quite good porridge but a bit different to usual oatmeal in texture. High in soluble fibre so good for you. I cook it in the microwave with a chopped up apple, and add some yoghurt when cooked.

darren-j1, Nov 19, 7:51am
i just needed to know because its so hard to find! i thought of blending porridge but didnt know what the difference was. i add oatbran to my breakfast smoothies . thanks.

uli, Nov 19, 7:54am
Any bran is the outer husk of the grain.

Here is a little rundown of what you are eating:

http://www.whatsonmyfood.org/food.jsp!food=OA

floralsun, Nov 19, 8:37am
Oatbran is usually with the rolled oats at Countdown, and I saw at the weekend that Pak-n-save have it in their bulk bins.

sarahb5, Nov 19, 8:03pm
I hadn't seen oatbran before in Countdown but also noticed it was there last week, Homebrand, with the rest of the oats

sweater, Nov 19, 11:41pm
New World sell it in the bulk binns

cookiebarrel, Nov 21, 9:44am
I'm still trying to find somewhere to buy oatmeal from, for my oatmeal crackers.Did wonder if I put wholegrain oats through the prosessor if that would work!

kay141, Nov 21, 7:02pm
It worked for me but can't remember whether I used the blender or processor. I know I made them very fine.

uli, Nov 22, 4:19am
You can make oatmeal from oats or flakes (for porridge) in a food processor or blender.

roshu, Nov 24, 4:28am
Some supermarkets put it in the baking aisle while others put it with rolled oats in the cereal section. And it makes a yummy porridge.

cookiebarrel, Nov 24, 4:53am
Thanks guys.I am wanting to make some oatmeal biscuits and just haven't seen it around here in an age.

cleo444, Nov 24, 5:56am
That might be the answer, haven't looked in the baking aisle

sarahb5, Nov 24, 9:24pm