Limoncello brewers!

jcsolgier, Jan 12, 8:37am
Limoncello newbie here, worried about conflicting recipes. Do you strain the vodka/lemon mix before or a few weeks after adding the sugar syrup!

Thanks in advance!

beaker59, Jan 12, 10:28am
I don't strain mine seems to work well.

A small tip, its all about the lemons and Mayer lemons just don't work.

jcsolgier, Jan 12, 7:46pm
thanks for that - I have no idea what sort of lemons they are; they are from my parents tree that seems to have fruit on it all year round (can you grow lemons from cuttings!) They seem really big, thick skinned and bumpy besides the ones you get from the supermarket, could they be meyers!

davidt4, Jan 12, 8:34pm
They don't sound like Meyers; maybe they are Lisbons, which are great.Meyers are medium sized, smooth skinned and dark yellow, with a distinctive smell that is quite different to real lemons.

The best flavoured Limoncello is made the old fashioned Sicilian way where you suspend the lemons in a muslin bag over the spirits inside a big jar.The oils and other aromatics are slowly drawn out of the fruit and you get a much more interesting flavour.I'll see if I can find a link for you later today.

jed, Jan 12, 8:39pm
I use Ben Yen lemons.Infuse the skin only (no pith) in vodka for 2-3 days then remove skin and add sugar syrup mix.Very YUM and easy to make.

purplegoanna, Jan 12, 10:02pm

mwood, Jan 12, 10:29pm
You could be lucky here - they sound like Citrons - the original "lemon" used for Limoncello - please post the complete recipe and method you are using.

jcsolgier, Jan 12, 10:37pm
I used the recipe on egullet - sounded like it had lots of good reviews.
http://forums.egullet.org/index.php!/topic/40048-making-limoncello/
It's the fifth post down.

jcsolgier, Jan 12, 10:40pm
Purplegoanna - yours is the oppositen of mine. Hopefully it doesn't make too much difference

vintagekitty, Jan 13, 12:41am
which are the smoothed skin type commonly sold in the supermarkets!.