Does anyone like these silicon bakewares?

firecentaurr, Aug 3, 1:50am
I've never tried them before and had always used tin pans for doing muffins and cakes.Have anyone done jelly in the bundt silicon pan?
Are these silicon bakeware worth buying or don't they work well?They used to cost an arm and a leg when they first hit the market...

What your thoughts on them? :)

lx4000, Aug 3, 2:17am
I like them for muffins but not when making heavy loaves as the tins don't hold their shape.!

elliehen, Aug 3, 3:40am
I wouldn't bother with a silicon oven 'cloth' or mitt.They're hard to bend to get a decent grip - I've reverted to using my trusty old padded fabric ones.

kaddiew, Aug 3, 3:45am
Silicon muffin trays never worked for me. Muffins came out looking nothing like those in metal trays. I threw the silicon ones away.

suie1, Aug 3, 4:18am
I have heard that you need to get good quality silicone bakeware, if it turns white on the crease when you double it back on itself it is poor quality & will not give good results, but equally I don't think I would spend the money for the Tupperware ones, a friend who loves Tupperware told me Wiltshire ones are just as good & don't cost anywhere near the same.

sarahj1, Aug 3, 4:36am
Didn't like results from my silicon muffins tray or square cake pan.Ditto previous poster on the silicon oven mitt too - too hard to grip tray with it - and come to think of it have never really used the silicon tray liner I bought either! - I feel a silicon baking gear listing coming on....

elliehen, Aug 3, 4:58am
Started thinking after my first post, about silicon/silicone, so asked my good friend Google:

sil·i·con (sl-kn, -kn)
n. Symbol Si