Does anyone have a Gluteen Free Cake Recipes

sunshinebay, Feb 28, 10:56pm
I am a teacher aide and we have birthday buddys my one this year is Gluteen Free.Has anybody got any good recipes for a morning tea shout.I have to do 4 things one a birthday cake and the other 3 something for everyone to nibble on.I would be greatful of any suggestions.

margyr, Feb 28, 11:28pm
hi there, just on the left is a box headed message board, in the keyword or member type gluten free then in the date posted click on the little arrow on the right and then anytime then click search, you will find quite alot of recipes there.

ppppaula, Mar 1, 6:56am
I make this regularly for someone who has to have a starch and dairy free diet.

Bill Granger's Mandarin & Almond Cake

3 mandarins
250g (1cup) caster sugar
6 eggs
230g (2cups) ground almonds

Put mandarins in medium saucepan and cover with water. Bring to the boil and simmer 2 hours (adding water if necessary).

Oven to 160 deg. Drain mandarins and cool to room temp. Split them open and remove seeds (so best with seedless ones!) Puree, including the skin in blender or food processor.

Whisk sugar and eggs together until combined. Add ground almonds and mandarin puree. Stir thoroughly. Pour mixture into well greased 24cm springform cake tin and bake 1 hour & 10 mins or until the cake looks set in middle (better slightly over than under cooked for this one and you can't really wreck it unless you have the oven at the wrong temp). Cool in tin.

Now...here you could decorate however suits but he suggests: 1/4 cup caster sugar in saucepan with 1/4 cup water. Stir over low heat until sugar dissolves. Add zest of 2 oranges and boil mixture until it just starts to caramelise. Lift zest out with fork and cool on a plate. Sprinkle over cake.

leebee35, Mar 1, 8:36am
do a search as suggested above -I loadeda fab chocolate brownie one a couple of months back..

ppppaula, Mar 2, 6:56am