Roast Beef

datoofairy, Jul 23, 10:58pm
I have been given aroast beef and want to cook it for dinner tomorrow night. I have never done a roast beef before so need some help please.
It weighs 1. 4kgs, how long do I cook it for and at what temperature? Its a rolled roast, if that makes any difference. Do I use an oven bag or not? Should I add any particular seasonings or herbs? I dont want to go overboard on the added flavourings, I want it to be just a basic roast beef.
The roast is part of a huge lot of home kill beef we were given, and if the rest of the beef we have eaten so far is anything to go by, it should be very tender and delicious.

margyr, Jul 23, 11:03pm
hi, i would use an oven bag and perhaps just chuck an onion it with it for some flavour, cook at around 150cooking time depends on how you like it, rare or well done, I would put it in an oven bag and then put vege in roasting dish with a little fat or oil, the vege take about an hour to be yum, I would cook the roast of beef for about 30 mins and then put in your vege.

buzzy110, Jul 24, 3:18am
I am presuming this is a rolled rib roast you have been given and not a rolled pot roast. They are two completely different foods. The first is for roasting and the second has to be cooked in liquid in a pot.

Just thought I'd put this in. Sorry I can't help you with a recipe. I cook all my roasts in my Easy Cook and I can no longer remember how to roast in an oven.

But basically it is a process. Salt and pepper your roast, add whatever flavourings you think you need, if any, put a sliced up onion in the bag if you want. Place your beef onto the onion, seal and put some holes in the bag to stop it bursting open, then roast in your oven. I'd cook it at 180C for 1:15 (depending on size) then check and cook for however much longer you think it will take to cook to your liking.

p. s. Easy Cook cooks really fast.

Use the stock in the bag to make your gravy/sauce.

datoofairy, Jul 24, 3:47am