Finger food to make in advance

wasala, Nov 30, 1:32am
If you were entertaining 40-50 people and wanted to get organised in advance, what would you do? Probably savoury rather than sweet. I'll have big platters of fruit. Any recipes that I can prepare now and freeze would be great. Not too difficult as I'm a pretty useless cook!

daarhn, Nov 30, 2:59am
I like making mini falafel balls, and mini spicy pork balls. Make 100's well in advance, precook, cool then freeze. Defrost and reheat and serve with dipping sauces which can also be premade in advance.

Mini savoury tarts, lining mini muffin tins with cut out sheets pastry rounds topped with onion marmalades, chutneys, relish etc sprinkle of cheese. Make these by the million, cool and freeze then defrost and reheat to serve.

Popcorn chicken. cube, dust, crumb in season mix, chicken meat into bite sized peices, deep fry in batches, cool and freeze, defrost and reheat.

Slabs of homemade pizzas. Make your own dough, shape into squares for easy cutting into bite sized pieces. Try not to overload, have various flavours using pesto sauces from dip tubs, sprinkle cheese, bits bacon, ham, capsicums mushrooms cheeses mini toms etc. Freeze whole and store flat wrapped onto of each other save sapace, defrost reheat and sprinkle some parmesan or fetta and bisil leaves. Go gourmet the choices are endless. Slice and serve

Sticky honey prawns. Bag prawn cutlets from frozen section, quite cheap in bulk all ready cleaned. Defrost, marinade in lemon or lime juice sweet chilli sauce, dried flaky chillis, flash fry until pink and caramelized, drizzle in honey and sprinkle with sesame seeds, cool, freeze. Defrost, reheat serve with shredded corriander leaves.