I made a sponge.can someone

nzbrat, Aug 25, 2:03am
please tell me why it ended with a huge sinkhole in the middle. I can bake just about anything but I cant do sponge or pav

cgvl, Aug 25, 3:30am
did you drop it when you took it out of the oven. By drop I mean that I always take sponge from oven and carefully drop the hot pan to the floor or onto bench from a height of about 60cms, this release air from the sponge quickly and stops sinking occurring.

kaddiew, Aug 25, 4:24am
I do that too, just like my mum did. She always made the highest, fluffiest "Fielders Sponges" ever.

ljayl, Aug 26, 6:27am
I drop mine before putting into oven . breakss the big air bubbles . and then again as I take them out. I just drop from oven onto open oven door

marcs, Aug 26, 2:32pm
LOL I am the same. I am a good baker but can not bake sponge for the life of me. I can make Pavs. The trick is to beat them for 20 - 25 minutes. If you want a recipe let me know.

sarahb5, Aug 27, 12:05pm
My 17 year old don makes a better sponge than me - if in doubt make a Victoria sandwich instead, it's more robust and less prone to sinking because of the fat but dropping before baking is what we were told at school

biggles45, Aug 27, 11:25pm
Don't open the oven door until very close to the time it should be cooked, and use eggs at room temperature. I keep eggs in the fridge, so if I intend making a sponge, I take them out the night before. Never heard of dropping it but never had a problem with it sinking.

biggles45, Aug 27, 11:27pm
Oh and get all ingredients out before starting, the rising agents work pretty fast so if the mix sits around while you get other ingredients out or line tins etc it will sink.Add eggs a little at a time.

griffo4, Aug 27, 11:33pm
l was hopeless at making sponges until a lady told me she only made sponges when she was angry she beat the living daylights out of them