Kitchen Mixers

ribzuba, Mar 8, 9:47pm
So I bought a Kenwood Chef two and a half years ago and last night it died.I bought it to be the same model one my Nana had given me which had been around since the 60's. I thought that they would still be great quality and I did a little reading and it seemed to be the case.At $600 I also thought it was a reasonably price to pay for something I expected to last and was the most I could afford. This one though has been nothing but trouble.The top would constantly pop up and the motor would turn itself down or off during use.I am thinking about buying a Kitchen Aid to replace it but am a little nervous that they too may have gone down in quality. To be entirely honest I haven't actually heard anyone rave about a mixer they have bought recently (I am a chef and everyone I know has one but no outstanding favourites). I would be interested in hearing opinions about something that can withstand high use in a domestic kitchen and last for years.I don't mind paying more if it will actually last but don't want to spend the money for something to break again!

04redsox, Mar 8, 10:23pm
My Kenwood KM210 is great, gets used several times weekly every week, but I bought it 20 years ago, maybe even a little more than 20 years. So I can't comment on current quality.

Did you have any warantee/guarantee!

millseys, Mar 8, 10:42pm
Can't fault my 2009 KitchenAid. It gets a hammering and goes goes goes

bunny51, Mar 8, 10:51pm
Is it still under warranty! I have a kenwood which is about 5 years old and never had any problems with it. It even bounced off the bench the other day when my daughter was making bread in it and she walked away leaving it kneading (rather quickly). It is still working as good as it ever was.

pickles7, Mar 8, 11:19pm
I have two Kenwood mixers wouldn't use anything else, a mate sold his Kitchen Aid on here he hated it, it was not robust enough. If your work load is high you probably need a Kenwood Major.