Cooking with gas

bransonbelle, Jan 26, 9:39pm
Hi there. We are about to move into a house that uses gas (piped in from the street) for heating and cooking etc. I have never cooked with gas before, but I understand it is a more controlled way of cooking! Forgive me if this is a stupid question, but is it still OK for me to use the same pots and pans I've been using!
Is gas pretty safe overall to use! I assume you don't need matches to light anymore. As you can tell I'm a complete novice! Thanks for your help.

kaddiew, Jan 26, 10:02pm
Ijust use my same old pots and pans I've had for decades.But I often find even the lowest setting far too powerful for a gentle simmer, and end up with large pans on the smallest "ring" to slow things down. Like you I'm more used to electric. No matches! Just press and turn knobs for instant heat. :)

bransonbelle, Jan 26, 10:04pm
Great thanks! Kind of looking forward to using gas now, after years of using electric.

kuaka, Jan 26, 10:22pm
I love the gas now - when we first bought the house I hated it as the pots were always sooty and hubby kept saying it was "dirty gas" - it's bottled, but I figured I couldn't always get dirty gas - turned out the jets were wrong and needed to be changed.O like it almost as much as I liked the ceramic top hob I had years ago.But you will still need matches when there's a power cut.Well I do with mine anyway.

fifie, Jan 26, 11:18pm
Love the gas, find it a bit hard to get a gentle simmer like #2 says, otherwise great, wonderful for stirfrys and its nice and quick to cook things. Gas fire in winter is instant heat, we use the big 45kg bottles and find it to expensive to run as we are home all day. Only use it as a booster or if its really cold, put in a heat pump which is more economical and heats a bigger areafor us.

aasha, Jan 27, 12:42am