Easy fudges-30 people

spaniels, Oct 10, 9:13am
Hi I want to make 3-4 types of really easy fudges for my parents 50th wedding ann to have with coffee. Im only a very basic cook. Please help!

elliehen, Oct 10, 9:39am
CREAMY, NO-BEAT FUDGE

Bring to boil on medium heat stirring ALL the time:
1 cup brown sugar
125 gm butter (room temp so you're not starting from rock hard)
1 can sweetened condensed milk
1 teaspoon golden syrup

Simmer on low for ten minutes, stirring ALL the time all around the pot to prevent little brown bits forming

Remove from heat and quickly stir in till melted 100 gms WHITTAKER'S white chocolate

Pour into 20 cm square tin lined with baking paper

Do not cut until completely cold, for neat edges (the chocolate needs time to set)

Variations:

+ Add 1 cup roughly chopped walnuts at the end after the chocolate

+ Add 1 tsp ground ginger at start of cooking and 1 cup chopped preserved ginger at the end after the chocolate

elliehen, Oct 10, 9:46am
CHOCOLATE FUDGE from grannypam, and endorsed by other posters who have tried it.

ralta, Oct 10, 10:06am
I've always found the chocolate fudge recipe from the Edmonds cook book to be a good one.
1/2 cup milk,1 tablespoon cocoa
2 cups sugar,vanilla essence to taste
25g butter.

Put milk sugar, butter & cocoa into a saucepan (either dissolve sugar on low heat before boiling mixture or use icing sugar).Bring to the boil, stirring occasionally, then boil until soft ball stage (113-118 deg c, the soft ball flattens on removal from water).Cool 5 minutes, add vanilla & beat until thick.Pour into a buttered dish, mark & cut when set.

supercook, Oct 10, 8:58pm
It's not fudge but chocolate truffles go well with coffee.

duckmoon, Oct 10, 9:28pm
I would think about things like chocolate truffles
or a slice cut into bite sized pieces.

ralta, Oct 10, 10:46pm
there are plenty of non-cook slices & confectionery using condensed milk.You could always look up the Nestle site.

pamellie, Oct 10, 11:50pm