Fondant

alebix, Aug 12, 9:31am
Hi, im new to using fondant and have a few questions.

1, How do you store any left over fondant!
2, How do you colour fondant! Gel, powder etc!
3, What do you use or where do you source your cutters for small projects like decos for cupcakes!

Any help is very much appreciated.

margyr, Aug 12, 9:37pm
left over roll into tight ball and wrap tightly in gladwrap, a couple of layers. Colouring I used paste and sometimes pastel dust to get delicate colour. cutters and clippers (shaping edges) from a cake decoration shop but I got mine all over 20 years ago so not really sure where they would be today. Learn to make little roses and use those on the top of your cupcake, dip violets in caster sugar. Hope this is of some help.

motgirl, Aug 12, 9:51pm
I usually roll my leftovers into a log shape, wrap in glad wrap and store in a ziplock bag.

I use mostly gels now for coloring, Americolor are fantastic but Wilton colours are fine too.The powders are more for dark colours like red and black but you can buy pre colored Bakels fondant for thesewhich is much easier then trying to colour your own.

I use the little pots of dusts and luster dusts for flowers and painting fondant.

Kiwi cakes online have a huge array of cutters etc.

splitty, Aug 13, 10:43pm